ILEX CRENATA

JAPANESE HOLLY

Position:  From direct sunlight to semi-shade

Soil requirements: Strong, permeable garden soil. For the plant substrata use a mixture of topsoil (no compost!) and coarse sand in equal measure. Additionally, mix in rough chippings, expanded clay or crushed lava in order to increase the water drainage and the pore volume of the substrata. Additionally one should add a layer of this material for drainage purposes.

Cutting: Cutting should be done after the first substantial appearance of buds in the spring, advisably with a sharp pair of shears. The last cutting should be carried out in August. From year to year the branches in the inner crown which are too close together or which have died should be removed.

Watering: The plant should be thoroughly watered after planting. After this, watering should take place when the uppermost 3-5 centimetres of the earth is dry. If the plant is in a pot then it should be watered every few days, until water runs out of the bottom of the pot.

Fertilizing: Initial fertilizing should be carried out in the spring, the last in late summer. It’s advisable to use organic fertilizer. Mineral fertilizer is also appropriate, but should then be half the recommended amount. Regular fertilizing is especially recommended if the plant is in a pot.

Winter protection: The Japanese Holly can only tolerate a certain amount of frost: in the case of extreme frost the plant must be covered using appropriate winter protection (e.g. coconut or fleece matting) against sunlight and cold winds.

PINUS PARVIFLORA

JAPANESE WHITE PINE

Position: Direct sunlight

Soil requirements: Sandy/pebbly and permeable garden soil. For the plant substrata use a mixture of topsoil (no compost!) and coarse sand in equal measure. Additionally, mix in rough chippings, expanded clay or crushed lava in order to increase the water drainage and the pore volume of the substrata. One should also add a layer of this material for drainage purposes.

Cutting: In winter the longest and strongest shoots from the year before can be completely removed. In the spring, when the shoots are fully grown out but the needles are not yet developed, these can be cut back by half to two thirds of their length. The shorter shoots can be left uncut. For an optimal result this cutting back should be done by hand. In the late summer or autumn the brown needles are cleaned away.

Watering: While pines generally prefer only a small amount of moisture, they should however not be too dry. After being planted they should be watered every few days until water runs out of the bottom of the pot.

Fertilizing: Initial fertilizing should be carried out in the spring, the last in late summer. It’s advisable to use organic fertilizer. Mineral fertilizer is also appropriate, but should then be half the recommended amount. Regular fertilizing is recommended particularly if the plant is in a pot.

Winter protection: The Japanese pines are unproblematic and are resistant even against heavy frost. If they are in a pot they should be protected against winds which might otherwise lead them to dry out.

TAXUS CUSPIDATA

JAPANESE YEW

Position : From direct sunlight to semi-shade

Soil requirements: Sandy/pebbly and permeable garden soil. For the plant substrata use a mixture of topsoil (no compost!) and coarse sand in equal measure. Additionally, mix in rough chippings, expanded clay or crushed lava in order to increase the water drainage and the pore volume of the substrata. Additionally one should add a layer of this material for drainage purposes.

Cutting: One should cut directly after the shoots first come to maturity, ideally with a sharp pair of shears. Shoots on the trunk should be completely removed. Further cutting throughout the year is generally not necessary. From year to year the branches which have died and those which grow too thickly together in the inner crown should be removed.

Watering: The plant should be thoroughly watered after planting. After this, watering should take place when the uppermost 3-5 centimetres of the earth is dry. If the plant is in a pot then it should be watered every few days, until water runs out of the bottom of the pot.

Fertilizing: Initial fertilizing should be carried out in the spring, the last in late summer. It’s advisable to use organic fertilizer. Mineral fertilizer is also appropriate, but should then be half the recommended amount. Regular fertilizing is recommended particularly if the plant is in a pot.

Winter protection: The Japanese Yew is thoroughly frost-resistant. If the tree is in a pot it should be protected during periods of extreme cold against winds which might otherwise lead them to dry out.

Seite auswählen

ILEX CRENATA

JAPANISCHE STECHPALME

Standort:  Sonnig bis halbschattig Bodenansprüche:  Kräftiger, durchlässiger Gartenboden. Als Pflanzsubstrat nimmt man eine Mischung aus Humus (kein Kompost!) und groben Sand zu gleichen Teilen. Zusätzlich mischt man groben Splitt, gebrochenen Blähton oder Lavagruss ein, um den Wasserabzug und das Porenvolumen im Substrat zu erhöhen. Außerdem ist eine Schicht aus diesem groben Material als Drainage einzubringen.

Schnitt:  Es wird direkt nach dem ersten starken Austrieb im Frühjahr geschnitten, am zweckmäßigsten mit einer scharfen  Heckenschere. Der letzte Schnitt sollte im August erfolgen. Von  Jahr zu Jahr sind zu dicht stehende und abgestorbene Zweige im Inneren der Krone zu entfernen.

Gießen:  Nach dem Pflanzen wird durchdringend gewässert. Danach wird nur noch gegossen, wenn der Boden in den oberen 3-5 cm trocken geworden ist. Steht die Pflanze im Topf, wird regelmäßig, in Abständen von einigen Tagen gegossen, solange bis Wasser unten aus dem Topf austritt.

Düngen:  Die erste Düngung gibt man im Frühjahr, die letzte im Spätsommer. Vorzugsweise gibt man organischen Dünger. Mineralischer Dünger ist auch geeignet, jedoch nur die Hälfte der empfohlenen Menge. Besonders wenn die Pflanze im Topf steht ist eine regelmäßige Düngung notwendig.

Winterschutz:  Die Japanische Stechpalme verträgt nur mäßigen Frost, bei starkem Frost muss die Pflanze mit geeignetem Winterschutz (z.B. Kokos- oder Fliesmatten) gegen Sonnenstrahlung und kalte Winde abgedeckt werden.

PINUS PARVIFLORA

JAPANISCHE MÄDCHENKIEFER

Standort:  Vollsonnig

Bodenansprüche:  Sandigkiesiger und durchlässiger Gartenboden.  Als Pflanzsubstrat nimmt man eine Mischung aus Humus (kein Kompost!) und groben Sand zu gleichen Teilen. Zusätzlich mischt man groben Splitt, gebrochenen Blähton oder Lavagruss ein, um den Wasserabzug und das Porenvolumen im Substrat zu erhöhen. Außerdem ist eine Schicht aus diesem groben Material als Drainage einzubringen.

Schnitt:  Im Winter können die längsten und kräftigsten, im Vorjahr angelegten Triebe ganz entfernt werden. Im Frühjahr, wenn sich die Triebe voll gestreckt haben, die Nadeln aber noch nicht entwickelt sind, werden diese um etwa die Hälfte bis zu zwei Drittel eingekürzt. Kurze Triebe können ungekürzt bleiben. Das Einkürzen erfolgt, für ein optimales Ergebnis, am besten von Hand. Im Spätsommer oder Herbst werden die braunen Nadeln aus den Verzweigungen geputzt.

Gießen:  Kiefern mögen es generell nicht zu feucht, dürfen aber auch nicht zu trocken stehen. Nach dem Pflanzen wird regelmäßig, in Abständen von einigen Tagen, gegossen, solange bis Wasser unten aus dem Topf austritt.

Düngen:  Die erste Düngung gibt man im Frühjahr, die letzte im Spätsommer. Vorzugsweise gibt man organischen Dünger. Mineralischer Dünger ist auch geeignet, jedoch nur die Hälfte der empfohlenen Menge. Besonders wenn die Pflanze im Topf steht ist eine regelmäßige Düngung notwendig.

Winterschutz:  Die Japanischen Kiefern sind unproblematisch und vertragen auch starken Frost. Stehen die Pflanzen im Topf, sind sie bei großer Kälte vor austrocknenden Winden zu schützen.

TAXUS CUSPIDATA

JAPANISCHE EIBE

Standort:  Sonnig bis halbschattig

Bodenansprüche:  Sandigkiesiger und durchlässiger Gartenboden.  Als Pflanzsubstrat nimmt man eine Mischung aus Humus (kein Kompost!) und groben Sand zu gleichen Teilen. Zusätzlich mischt man groben Splitt, gebrochenen Blähton oder Lavagruss ein, um den Wasserabzug und das Porenvolumen im Substrat zu erhöhen. Außerdem ist eine Schicht aus diesem groben Material als Drainage einzubringen.

Schnitt:  Es wird direkt nach dem Beginn des Ausreifens der ersten Austriebe im Frühjahr geschnitten, am zweckmäßigsten mit einer scharfen Heckenschere. Austriebe am Stamm werden komplett entfernt. Ein weiterer Schnitt während des Jahres ist in der Regel nicht notwendig. Von Jahr zu Jahr sind zu dicht stehende und abgestorbene Zweige im Inneren der Krone zu entfernen.

Gießen:  Nach dem Pflanzen wird durchdringend gewässert. Danach wird nur noch gegossen, wenn der Boden in den oberen 3-5 cm trocken geworden ist. Steht die Pflanze im Topf, wird regelmäßig, in Abständen von einigen Tagen gegossen, solange bis Wasser unten aus dem Topf austritt.

Düngen:  Die erste Düngung gibt man im Frühjahr, die letzte im Spätsommer. Vorzugsweise gibt man organischen Dünger. Mineralischer Dünger ist auch geeignet, jedoch nur die Hälfte der empfohlenen Menge. Besonders wenn die Pflanze im Topf steht, ist eine regelmäßige Düngung notwendig.

Winterschutz:  Die Japanische Eibe ist absolut frosthart. Stehen die Pflanzen im Topf, sind sie bei großer Kälte vor austrocknenden Winden zu schützen.